Theft Charges Defense in Miami, Broward and Hialeah
MIAMI THEFT CHARGES ATTORNEYTheft charges in the state of Florida can include shoplifting, burglary, robbery, embezzlement and fraud. All of these charges include the fact that the defendant is accused of depriving another individual of something they rightfully own, with the intention to gain something for themselves.
ShopliftingShoplifting, like other theft charges, is commonly classified as either Petit Theft or Grand Theft. Petit Theft is considered to be a theft of money or property with a value under $750. This charge is a misdemeanor of the second degree if the value does not reach $100. The punishment for this crime carries a maximum of 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. A first degree misdemeanor would occur when the value of the stolen property was $100 to just under $750. The punishment for this charge would carry a maximum of one year in jail and up to $1000 fine. Theft would be considered grand theft if the value of the stolen property or money is $750 or more.
Grand theft is considered a felony offense. This offense is broken into first, second and third degrees. Grand theft in the third degree is when the value given to the stolen property is more than $750 but less than $20,000. The maximum punishment for this charge would be 5 years in a state prison and a fine of $5000. Grand theft in the second degree is when the value of the stolen property is more than $20,000 but less than $100,000. The maximum punishment for this charge would be 15 years in a state prison and a fine of $10,000. Grand theft in the first degree occurs when the value of the stolen property exceeds $100,000. The maximum punishment for this charge would be 30 years in a state prison and a fine of $10,000.
BurglaryFlorida Statute 810.02 defines burglary as “entering or remaining in a dwelling, a structure, or a conveyance with the intent to commit an offense.” Burglary offenses in the state of Florida are classified by degrees. Burglary in the third degree occurs when the structure is unoccupied. Burglary in the second degree occurs when the structure is occupied or it occurs in a residence. Burglary punishable by life occurs when the defendant is armed or an assault/battery occurs, if there is more than $1000 worth of damage, or if a motor vehicle was used to enter the structure.
DefensesThere are a number of positions a defendant can take when faced with a theft charge. These include but are not limited to the belief that the defendant shared equal ownership of the property, the defendant was given consent by the individual who owns the property, the belief that the property had been voluntarily abandoned or that the defendant believed they had a right to possess the property.
Contact a Miami Theft Charge Defense Attorney Today
If you have been charged with a theft charge in Florida, it is important to seek a Criminal Defense Attorney immediately. Contact Miami Criminal Defense Attorney Adam K. Goodman to learn about your options during a free consultation. As a Hialeah Criminal Defense Attorney, Adam K. Goodman will aggressively fight for you and defend your constitutional rights. Adam K. Goodman maintains the ideal that relationships matter, which has earned him respect amongst prosecutors and judiciary. This leads to results for you, the client.
As a former Miami prosecutor and Chief of Litigation, Adam K. Goodman has the experience and knowledge to defend your case. Contact The Law Office of Adam K. Goodman at (305) 482-3265 or (954) 695-5126 today for all of your Broward County, Palm Beach, Monroe, or Miami Criminal Defense needs.